Getting spiritual confirmation of callings

Today we got a new Bishopric.  My wife told me how she got a confirmation from the spirit of who our new Bishop would be this morning before Church started, well before it was announced, and it was interesting hearing the experiences of the Stake President in his learning who he should call to be Bishop, but I’ve not yet gotten confirmation myself.  I’m not sure if I will.  I don’t think it would be from a lack of listening, but for me, I think it is more that I don’t need to have confirmation.  No, I’m not saying that others “need” confirmation, or that others don’t have faith, this is just the way it has been for me.  Except when I was in the Bishopric (as a Clerk), it’s never been really important to me who has which calling, or if any person would be strong enough spiritually to handle the calling.  I figure whomever has been called has been called for a reason, and anything else is not my problem.

 

It’s funny, but the only thing I could think about when they announced the new Bishopric was wondering why women couldn’t be called.  Aside from women not having the Priesthood, which I don’t think is likely until after the Second Coming, I think it is because we live in a world where it is nigh impossible for non-related (and non-married) men and women to work as closely together as they would need to be in any Presidency, no matter what they were over.  I do so look forward to when we can get over all that, both as members of the Church and in the culture at large.

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

